The 2013 presidential election in the Republic of Georgia

Research output: Contribution to journalArticlepeer-review

4 Citations (Scopus)


On 27 October 2013 Georgia's citizens elected their fourth president since the country became independent from the Soviet Union in 1991. Despite the fact that the presidential position is now largely ceremonial, the election held a special significance since it marked the coming into effects of the 2010 constitutional amendments which shifted institutional power from the presidency to the office of the prime minister. The new election, the sixth in the country's post-independence history, led also to the automatic resignation of Prime Minister Bidzina Ivanishvili, and the formation of a new government, led by Irakli Garibashvili.

Although the electoral system allows for two rounds to ensure that the winner is elected by a majority of votes, only one was needed, as the Georgian Dream's (GD) presidential candidate Giorgi Margvelashvili secured a resounding victory in the first round with 62.1% of the votes, with the opposition United National Movement (UNM) candidate Davit Bakradze trailing some 40 points behind (21.7%). Margvelashvili was inaugurated on 17 November, following Mikheil Saakashvili (2004–2013), Eduard Shevardnadze (1995–2003), and Zviad Gamsakhurdia (1991–19921) as the president of the Republic of Georgia.
Original languageEnglish
Pages (from-to)395-397
Number of pages3
JournalElectoral Studies
Early online date9 May 2014
Publication statusPublished - Sept 2014


Dive into the research topics of 'The 2013 presidential election in the Republic of Georgia'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this