Sorites on what matters

Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapter

6 Downloads (Pure)

Abstract

Ethics in the tradition of Derek Parfit’s Reasons and Persons is riddled with sorites-like arguments, which lead us by what seem innocent steps to seemingly false conclusions. Take, for example, spectrum arguments for the Repugnant Conclusion that appeal to slight differences in quality of life. Several authors have taken the view that, since spectrum arguments are structurally analogous to sorites arguments, the correct response to spectrum arguments is structurally analogous to the correct response to sorites arguments. This sorites analogy is here argued against. There are potential structural disanalogies between spectrum arguments and sorites arguments. But even if these arguments are relevantly structurally analogous, they differ in their content in ways that show the sorites analogy to be implausible. Two content-based disanalogies are here explored—one is inspired by Parfit’s work on reductionism, and the other involves hypersensitivity. The chapter concludes with a methodological lesson.
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationEthics and existence
Subtitle of host publicationthe legacy of Derek Parfit
EditorsJeff McMahan, Tim Campbell, James Goodrich, Ketan Ramakrishnan
Place of PublicationOxford
PublisherOxford University Press
Chapter18
Volume2
ISBN (Print)9780192894250
DOIs
Publication statusPublished - 20 Jan 2022

Keywords

  • Derek Parfit
  • Sorites arguments
  • Spectrum arguments
  • Indeterminacy
  • Reductionism about personal identity
  • Transitivity of better than
  • Hypersensitivity in ethics
  • Population ethics

Fingerprint

Dive into the research topics of 'Sorites on what matters'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.

Cite this